2019 Iloilo and Iloilo City Candidates

The province of Iloilo is one of the highly contested provinces in the Philippines having 1.35 million registered voters as of 2016. It is known as a Liberal Party (LP) bailiwick with Mar Roxas getting almost 70% of the total votes cast during the last presidential elections from both Iloilo City and the Iloilo province. Will this also be the case in the LP-backed candidates this midterm elections?

At the local level, 1,174 candidates are competing for 464 elective seats. There are 19 Congressional District Candidates for the five congressional districts in the province and the lone district of Iloilo City.

Arthur Defenso Jr., who has aligned with the administration party’s Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) will be competing with four gubernatorial hopefuls. These are Nacionalista Party (NP) standard bearer Ferj Biron, Partido ng Dugong Dakilang Samahan gubernatorial candidate Esperidion Javier, and independent candidates Vicente Antay and Jonry Gargarita.

Vice Governor Christine Garin is seeking reelection under NP and is facing challenger Neil Tupas III of PD-Laban.

On the average, two candidates are likewise competing for each of the provincial board member seat.

(See the complete list of Provincial Candidates.)

In the Congressional elections, four candidates will compete in the First Congressional District and the Lone District of Iloilo City; two in the Third District; and, three in the Second and Fourth districts.

(See the complete list of Congressional Candidates.)

Ten candidates are likewise seeking to occupy the mayoralty posts of Iloilo City and Passi City while 104 are competing to occupy the 42 mayoralty seats of Iloilo’s municipalities.

Elective PositionElective SeatsCandidates
Congressional Districts619
Vice Governor12
Provincial Board1020
City Mayors210
City Vice Mayors27
City Councilors2264
Municipal Mayors42104
Municipal Vice Mayors4295
Municipal Councilors336848

The candidates in the province and cities of Iloilo are still male dominated. Only one in every four candidates are females.

Candidates bearing certifications from political parties are dominated by those from the Nacionalista Party with 435. PDP-Laban nominated candidates only account for 202 while those under the Partido Dugong Dakilang Samahan (PDDS) or Democratic Party of the Philippines (DPP) or a coalition of the two numbers 94.

The Liberal party (LP) which dominated Iloilo’s polls in 2016 only numbered to 34 which is almost the same as the local party, Abyan Ilonggo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s