Category: BOL Plebiscite

Lanao del Norte rejects BOL; North Cotabato villages vote yes

John Unson (The Philippine Star) – February 8, 2019

NORTH COTABATO, Philippines — The entire province of Lanao del Norte voted against the inclusion of its six municipalities in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

However, 61 barangays in the seven towns in North Cotabato voted yes to be included in the BARMM following last Wednesday’s plebiscite.

These were the unofficial results obtained yesterday from the provincial Commission on Elections (Comelec).

The barangays in seven towns of North Cotabato – Midsayap, Aleosan, Pikit, Kabacan, Carmen, Tulunan and Pigcawayan – are enclaves of the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF).

Plebiscite results also revealed voters in the towns of Aleosan and Tulunan voted against being included in the BARMM.