Category: Region 5

2019 Elections: Albay Provincial Candidates

The filing of candidacies for the 2019 elections revealed a few surprises in the Province of Albay. This is because of the events at the national level that necessitated some realignments at the local level. It should be noted that the 2019 election is a midterm election and will test the public’s support for the Duterte Administration.

Among the surprises is the lack of contenders for mayoralty post in at least six towns with two or three more having only token candidates. Another is the assumed return of Cong. Joey Salceda to the provincial government. This is his ticket to the Regional Governorship  should Federalism pushes through. Instead, Salceda sought re-election as Representative for the Second Congressional District.

Continue reading “2019 Elections: Albay Provincial Candidates”

Camarines Norte Provincial Candidates

The 2019 gubernatorial elections in Camarines Norte is a rematch between incumbent Governor Edgardo Tallado and former Congresswoman Catherine Barcelona Reyes. In 2016, after battling sex scandal that caught national attention, Tallado edged out Reyes with a 2.3% vote-margin or around 5,000 votes. Will the rematch lead to Tallado’s re-election?

The full list of candidates for the provincial posts of Camarines Norte are as follows:

Graphics Credit:


  1. BALMEO, Romeo (Independent or Ind)
  2. REYES, Catherine Barcelona (Liberal Party or LP)
  3. TALLADO, Edgardo (Partido Demkratikong Pilipino – Laban ng Bayan or PDP-Laban)

Vice Governor

  1. PADILLA, Ricarte (National Unity Party or NUP)
  2. PIMENTEL, Jonah Pedro (PDP-Laban)

Sangguniang Panlalawigan — First District

  1. ARGARIN, Bonifacio (NUP)
  2. CANLAS, Arthur Michael (NUP)
  3. DASCO, Aida (PDP-Laban)
  4. JALGALADO, Walter Randolf (NUP)
  5. MALUBAY, Teresita (NUP)
  7. PANDI, Muriel (PDP-Laban)
  8. PARDO, Pamela (NUP)
  9. QUIBRAL, Reynoir (PDP-Laban)
  10. SERDON, Artemio Jr. (PDP-Laban)
  11. ZABALA, Maria Cecilia (Ind)

Sangguniang Panlalawigan — Second District

  1. ABOGADO, Felix ( NUP)
  2. ALEGRE, Joseph Stanley (PDP-Laban)
  3. ASIS, Jose Sr. (Ind)
  4. HERRERA, Renee (PDP-Laban)
  5. LUKBAN, Julian Jr. (NUP)
  6. MARMOL, Romeo (PDP-Laban)
  7. MORENO, Renato (PDP-Laban)
  8. PADILLA, Casimiro Jr. (NUP)
  9. PANOTES, Joseph Christopher (PDP-Laban)
  10. PARALE, Godfrey (NUP)
  11. RAYMUNDO, Serafin (NUP)